Returning to the Automobile Dependent South

My train leaves Washington, DC for Charlotte, NC this Saturday. The below photo shows how I transported everything one mile from the home I was staying in to the Takoma Park metro station then on the Red Line to Union Station.

Transporting everything I brought to DC back home to North Carolina

Transporting everything I brought to DC back home to North Carolina

While I am looking forward to catching up with family and friends before moving to Portland, OR in September, I am very nervous and frustrated about returning to the automobile dependent South. I have thoroughly enjoyed living car-free in the Washington, DC region since the end of June. During this time, I have been commuting to and from work, carrying groceries, attending meetings, and many other trips all by bicycle. In addition, I have been biking 100 miles over two days on some weekends. All of this will most likely change to near zero bike trips and near zero miles of biking everyday until I move to Portland, OR in September.

Due to the Washington, DC region having such a great network of trails, almost the entire 100 mile distance was on trails. The below map, which I found here and was last updated in 2003, shows the locations of most of the multi-use trails in the DC region.

Map of DC Multi-Use Trails

Map of DC Multi-Use Trails

Since the multi-use trails are separated from automobile traffic, I didn’t have to deal with fast moving automobile traffic or stressed out motorists that don’t seam to care about other people, including other motorists. While the Charlotte region is improving its trail network, especially with the help of all the parks and recreation departments and the Carolina Thread Trail, it currently does not have long distance trail networks. The below map shows current and future greenways in Mecklenburg County.

Mecklenburg County Greenway Map

Mecklenburg County Greenway Map

Due to the Charlotte region not having the extensive trail network that the DC region has, I am going to be forced to bike on the road for most of my trips again. Since this is too stressful for me and the high risk of dying, I will most likely leave my bike at home and use my parents’ automobile again. I almost wish I wasn’t returning to the South before moving to Portland, OR.

Leave a Reply

