Arcata at Eye Level: Part 1

I am writing this post on my smartphone because I decided not to bring my laptop on my 9-day Redwood National Park and nearby cities vacation. While I usually bring my laptop on trips, I packed more than usual this time because I plan to be more adventurous than usual, which is impressive considering I usually have adventurous vacations. “Arcata at Eye Level: Part 1” is a reference to “The City at Eye Level”.

.

I wanted to write this quick post because the bike parking situation in Arcata is bothering me. Thankfully, I found a slightly secure covered bike parking solution within walking distance of my Airbnb. I wrote “slightly secure” because I am concerned about the people with bad hygiene who I saw in the shopping center potentially trying to steal my expensive bike.

I was originally planning to park my e-bike rental in one of the bike lockers at the Arcata Transit Center. Since a key is needed to use the bike lockers and the transit staff do not work during the weekend, I was unable to unlock the lockers today. I brought my own lock in case the lockers were able to be used with a lock provided by the user. Due to how many low-income people hang out at the transit center, I assume these people may have slept in the lockers if they were kept unlocked when there is no bike in the lockers. I experienced this issue at Clackamas Town Center when the bike lockers were removed after homeless people abused the lockers. How should bike locker providers balance providing cyclists with easy access to the lockers with preventing homeless people from abusing the lockers?

Arcata Transit Center bike lockers. Photo: Ray Atkinson

I searched for alternative covered bike parking in Arcata to protect the battery in my e-bike rental from getting wet in case it rains. This proved to be challenging due to how many racks are uncovered. I am thankful that there is at least some bike parking, especially downtown.

Partly covered bike parking in Arcata. The rest of the rack behind my bike is not covered.
Is this bike parking?

Thankfully, Arcata has some legitimate bike parking, which is mostly located downtown. I was honestly in a depressed mood from being alone, so I appreciated reading Greg Bee’s poetry on the bike rack because their poetry improved my mood. I recommend checking out Barb Chamberlain’s blog for more bike-related poetry.

Yes, I have been thinking about stuff beyond bike parking. I was intrigued by how Arcata has permeable pavement with a rain garden. I usually only think of larger cities having this innovative design.

Future Blog Post

One of my vacation goals is not to be glued to my phone, so I am not sure when I will publish my next post about my vacation. I look at screens enough at work!

Leave a comment