Settle Down: Part 2

I published the first part of this series about two years ago. I wish that I could report that my goal to settle down was closer to being achieved. At least I now live in a city where I can afford to purchase my first home, which I plan to do later this year or in 2025. I had envisioned making this purchase with a partner, but dreams do not always come true.

While the below Dense City podcast did not make me feel more hopeful about achieving this goal, I wanted to share it because I think it covers some of the barriers that I am encountering as I struggle to settle down anywhere in the United States. I am concerned that changing what people, especially my dates, think about my car-free lifestyle and their travel behavior is very tough and slow. I doubt these changes will happen fast enough for me to settle down. I should clarify that I am hoping that American society shifts how it views car dependency and the need to own and drive a car to be attractive to a potential partner.

I think trying to change my future girlfriend’s desire to date a man who owns and drives a car would be a red flag for her. Due to how stressful this would be for me, I also see this as a red flag for me. I have resisted when my dates have tried to change my car-free lifestyle, so I feel it would be unfair to expect my date to change for me. What do you think it will take for American society to shift how it views car dependency and the need to own and drive a car to be attractive to a potential partner? When do you think this shift will happen?

Future Blog Post

Hopefully, the third part in this series will be more promising. While I keep feeling pressure from my family and many friends to buy a car and start driving, I know even these people are pressuring me because they want me to settle down with a loving wife. Since I am not getting any younger, I am honestly feeling closer to succumbing to the pressure than at any other point in my life. I may have to decide between continuing my car-free lifestyle and buying a car to attract my future wife. I sometimes wish that I had been born before the car was invented because I would not have had to make this tough decision.

Leave a comment